» blanket print nails

07/07/2014

Color: Saucy Jack (Butter London)Retail Price: $15.00 (USD)

Saucy Jack is a burgundy red shade with a creme finish (it has photographed slightly brighter than it actually appears). The formula is a little thin and reminded me of a jelly nail polish; regardless, I would still classify this as a creme. The first coat will be a little bit streaky and will look more raspberry than red, but add on at least one more coat, and you’ll achieve bottle color.
In the photo above, I am wearing three coats of Saucy Jack. Initially, I only had on two coats, but when I took my swatch photos, I was getting visible nail lines, so you’ll definitely want that third coat. On the plus side, because the formula is a little on the thin side, it’s very easy to create a clean, smooth manicure. Finish up with your favorite glossy top coat, and you’re good to go!
Red is a staple in any nail polish stash, but that also means it quickly becomes one of those colors you might not think you need anymore. Allow me to tell you that you need Saucy Jack!
Disclosure: Product sample provided by Butter London.

Color: Saucy Jack (Butter London)
Retail Price: $15.00 (USD)

Saucy Jack is a burgundy red shade with a creme finish (it has photographed slightly brighter than it actually appears). The formula is a little thin and reminded me of a jelly nail polish; regardless, I would still classify this as a creme. The first coat will be a little bit streaky and will look more raspberry than red, but add on at least one more coat, and you’ll achieve bottle color.

In the photo above, I am wearing three coats of Saucy Jack. Initially, I only had on two coats, but when I took my swatch photos, I was getting visible nail lines, so you’ll definitely want that third coat. On the plus side, because the formula is a little on the thin side, it’s very easy to create a clean, smooth manicure. Finish up with your favorite glossy top coat, and you’re good to go!

Red is a staple in any nail polish stash, but that also means it quickly becomes one of those colors you might not think you need anymore. Allow me to tell you that you need Saucy Jack!

Disclosure: Product sample provided by Butter London.

(Source: blanketprint)

07/06/2014

Color: Rebel (M∙A∙C)Retail Price: $12.00 (USD)

Rebel is a mid-tone rich plum creme, which makes it a perfect shade for transitioning your style from summer to fall. You’ve got yourself a Rebel with a cause. ;)
In the photo above, I am wearing two coats of Rebel, although the formula is thick enough that one coat probably would have sufficed. With that in mind, if you do need more than one coat, make sure you allow enough time for your first coat to dry. Since the formula for this shade is a teensy bit on the thicker side, you’ll get bald spots in your manicure if you apply a second coat before the first one is dry.
Because Rebel is a part of M∙A∙C’s permanent nail color collection, you might already own a bottle of it. However, it’s worth noting that M∙A∙C recently reworked the formula for their nail polishes. From personal experience, I find the new formula chips less. Moreover, M∙A∙C nail polishes now come with a flat brush (similar to OPI’s brushes), which makes application a lot less messy. So, if you already own a bottle, perhaps you want to spring for the new and improved formula. And if you don’t own Rebel yet, this is the perfect opportunity to give it a shot.
Disclosure: Product sample provided by M∙A∙C.

Color: Rebel (M∙A∙C)
Retail Price: $12.00 (USD)

Rebel is a mid-tone rich plum creme, which makes it a perfect shade for transitioning your style from summer to fall. You’ve got yourself a Rebel with a cause. ;)

In the photo above, I am wearing two coats of Rebel, although the formula is thick enough that one coat probably would have sufficed. With that in mind, if you do need more than one coat, make sure you allow enough time for your first coat to dry. Since the formula for this shade is a teensy bit on the thicker side, you’ll get bald spots in your manicure if you apply a second coat before the first one is dry.

Because Rebel is a part of M∙A∙C’s permanent nail color collection, you might already own a bottle of it. However, it’s worth noting that M∙A∙C recently reworked the formula for their nail polishes. From personal experience, I find the new formula chips less. Moreover, M∙A∙C nail polishes now come with a flat brush (similar to OPI’s brushes), which makes application a lot less messy. So, if you already own a bottle, perhaps you want to spring for the new and improved formula. And if you don’t own Rebel yet, this is the perfect opportunity to give it a shot.

Disclosure: Product sample provided by M∙A∙C.

(Source: blanketprint)

02/07/2014


Color: Boom Boom Pow (Deborah Lippmann)Retail Price: $20.00 (USD)
This dazzling nail polish is for the truly glamorous at heart. Boom Boom Pow is absolutely packed with all kinds of gold glitter, and even boasts 24 karat gold dust! Since the base is clear, this is excellent for layering over other shades and could even provide a great base for galaxy nail art.
The formula for this shade is easy to work with, which means application is fairly effortless. In the photo above, I am wearing two coats of Boom Boom Pow on my middle finger, and just one coat on my ring and pinky fingers (all over a base manicure using a black creme). As you can see, both one and two coats look fine; it really just depends on what kind of bling you’re wanting to feature on your nails.
This is one of the more expensive nail polishes, but the 24 karat gold dust gives it that extra bit of uniqueness that might convince you to spring for it. Moreover, the formula and ease of application makes this one worth the price tag in my book. Go on—treat yourself!
Disclosure: Product sample provided by Deborah Lippmann.

Color: Boom Boom Pow (Deborah Lippmann)
Retail Price: $20.00 (USD)

This dazzling nail polish is for the truly glamorous at heart. Boom Boom Pow is absolutely packed with all kinds of gold glitter, and even boasts 24 karat gold dust! Since the base is clear, this is excellent for layering over other shades and could even provide a great base for galaxy nail art.

The formula for this shade is easy to work with, which means application is fairly effortless. In the photo above, I am wearing two coats of Boom Boom Pow on my middle finger, and just one coat on my ring and pinky fingers (all over a base manicure using a black creme). As you can see, both one and two coats look fine; it really just depends on what kind of bling you’re wanting to feature on your nails.

This is one of the more expensive nail polishes, but the 24 karat gold dust gives it that extra bit of uniqueness that might convince you to spring for it. Moreover, the formula and ease of application makes this one worth the price tag in my book. Go ontreat yourself!

Disclosure: Product sample provided by Deborah Lippmann.

(Source: blanketprint)

11/12/2013

Color: Kim (Julep)Retail Price: $14.00 (USD)
This is a shimmery gunmetal gray shade that was first released with Julep’s August 2012 Maven boxes. Julep says it has a frosty finish, but I don’t really think so. Maybe there’s a tiny bit of frost in there, but not really a lot, in my opinion!
I really love the formula for Kim. I expected application to be streaky, but it’s actually really smooth, which was a lovely surprise. As with all Julep shades, it is opaque in two coats.
I will absolutely be rocking this shade in the coming winter months. Gray is so chic as it is, and I love how the subtle shimmer (and, okay, frost!) makes Kim stand out from other gray nail polishes. Definitely a keeper!
Disclosure: Product sample provided by Julep.

Color: Kim (Julep)
Retail Price: $14.00 (USD)

This is a shimmery gunmetal gray shade that was first released with Julep’s August 2012 Maven boxes. Julep says it has a frosty finish, but I don’t really think so. Maybe there’s a tiny bit of frost in there, but not really a lot, in my opinion!

I really love the formula for Kim. I expected application to be streaky, but it’s actually really smooth, which was a lovely surprise. As with all Julep shades, it is opaque in two coats.

I will absolutely be rocking this shade in the coming winter months. Gray is so chic as it is, and I love how the subtle shimmer (and, okay, frost!) makes Kim stand out from other gray nail polishes. Definitely a keeper!

Disclosure: Product sample provided by Julep.

(Source: blanketprint)

11/11/2013

Color: Claire (Julep)Retail Price: $14.00 (USD)
This is a cool sky blue with a creme finish. It nicely toes the line between bright and neon. I find once most shades hit neon territory, they dry matte (an issue that is easily combated with a top coat), which isn’t necessarily problematic…but if I wanted a matte nail polish, I would get a matte nail polish! So, I rather like it when a nail polish manages to be bright, almost neon, and glossy all at once!
The formula for Claire is a little on the thick side, which makes application somewhat difficult because it’s hard to get a smooth finish with this nail color. After careful application, I am wearing two coats of Claire in the photo above.
Being such a bright color, Claire seems like a great summer shade (awesome for toes!), but I think it could fit right in during the cool winter months, too.
Disclosure: Product sample provided by Julep.

Color: Claire (Julep)
Retail Price: $14.00 (USD)

This is a cool sky blue with a creme finish. It nicely toes the line between bright and neon. I find once most shades hit neon territory, they dry matte (an issue that is easily combated with a top coat), which isn’t necessarily problematic…but if I wanted a matte nail polish, I would get a matte nail polish! So, I rather like it when a nail polish manages to be bright, almost neon, and glossy all at once!

The formula for Claire is a little on the thick side, which makes application somewhat difficult because it’s hard to get a smooth finish with this nail color. After careful application, I am wearing two coats of Claire in the photo above.

Being such a bright color, Claire seems like a great summer shade (awesome for toes!), but I think it could fit right in during the cool winter months, too.

Disclosure: Product sample provided by Julep.

(Source: blanketprint)

11/10/2013

(Click photos to enlarge them.)

Collection: Summer 2013 PixieDust (Zoya)
Retail Price: $9.00 (USD) per bottle

This was my first time trying Zoya’s PixieDust formula. I’m pretty iffy on textured nail polish in general, but I actually like PixieDust! The sugary texture is smooth and uniform, so you get the benefits of a textured manicure without having to worry about the final look appearing like a mess. Best of both worlds!

Check out the end of my review for details on application and wear.


Destiny: This is a red-orange coral with gold glitter throughout. It photographed a bit more orange than it actually is. Looking at the bottle, the color actually reminds me of the inside of a grapefruit, which definitely echoes the summer vibe of this collection.

Beatrix: This is a bright tangerine orange with gold glitter throughout. It looks perfectly citrusy for summer, but now that I’m looking at it, I think it looks kind of pumpkin-y, too, so it can carry into fall as well. I love it when nail polish is versatile!

Solange: Simply put, this shade is yellow/gold. In person, there is quite a lot of dimension to it because the nail polish is a bright yellow, while the glitter throughout is a darker gold. If you want to rock some PixieDust at work, Solange is probably your best bet.

Miranda: This is a rosy berry pink with silver glitter throughout. It actually appears darker in the bottle, which had me thinking it didn’t really fit with the rest of the shades in this collection, but on the nail, it is quite bright!

Stevie: This is a soft lilac with silver glitter throughout. I liked it so much more than I thought I would. Lilacs like this shade usually have a “dusty” quality to them that I tend to not like, but the “dusty” quality here is in the form of glitter, which nicely shakes things up!

Liberty: This is a bright electric blue with silver glitter throughout. The base was also a little jelly-ish, and overall, the nail polish is pretty pigmented, so you might get some staining on your nails because of that. Liberty is my favorite from this collection. Perfect pop of color for chilling poolside or making a statement wherever it is you’re going this season!


For the most part, the formulas for all these shades are pretty consistent. I am wearing two coats of nail polish in all my swatches. Dry time is actually quicker than ordinary nail polish, but not that quick (you can spot a little smudge on my middle finger when I checked too soon in the Destiny swatch!). And the PixieDust formula is slightly thick, but in spite of that, application is pretty easy—just make sure the first coat is completely dry before applying the second coat (otherwise, you’ll get some pull, which will ruin the manicure because everything will just get chunky and awkward).

I wore Liberty on my nails after I finished swatching, and I was worried the manicure wouldn’t last very long without a base or top coat, which is how this nail polish is supposed to be worn; however, my manicure lasted a full week!

Destiny, Beatrix, and Solange are a perfectly citrus-y trio that scream summer to me, while Miranda, Stevie, and Liberty are not so obvious about it (which isn’t necessarily a bad thing!). Overall, this is a great summer collection, but am I the only one wishing for a green in the mix, too?

Disclosure: Product samples provided by Zoya.

(Source: blanketprint)

11/08/2013

(Click photos to enlarge them.)

Collection: Modern Family Holiday (Nicole by OPI)
Retail Price: $7.99 (USD) per bottle

This holiday season, Nicole by OPI is releasing five dazzling limited edition nail polishes inspired by Modern Family


Late Blu-mer: This is a medium blue with silver microshimmer throughout. OPI describes it as “vintage blue jeans that have stood the test of time,” which I just love! That’s my opinion on all medium to dark blue nail polishes; like jeans, blues magically look lovely on everyone. Out of the shimmers in this collection, application for Late Blu-mer is easiest, and in the photo above, I am wearing two coats of nail polish.

Who Red My Journal???: (Can’t you just imagine Alex or Haley shrieking the name of this nail polish?) This is a burnt red-orange with microshimmer throughout. It is interesting because the color shifts from red to orange, depending on the lighting, so it would be a great color to where as the season changes from fall to winter. Application for this shade was a little streaky, so take your time with this manicure, and I achieved opacity in two coats.

You’re My Treasure: This nail polish features large diamond and hex holographic gold glitter in a clear base. It was frustrating trying to get the diamonds onto my nails, but other than that, application is pretty good because every brush stroke brings with it a fair amount of glitter. In the photo above, I am wearing one coat of You’re My Treasure over two coats of Who Red My Journal???

Spark the Conversation: This nail polish features square holographic silver glitter in a clear base. Application is a little tricky because it was hard to get the glitter onto the brush and then onto my nails, but this one still ended up being my favorite out of the bunch. It makes me think of confetti from a New Year’s Eve party! In the photo above, I am wearing one coat of Spark the Conversation over two coats of Late Blu-mer.

Aren’t Families Grape?: (Who can hear Phil saying the name of this one?) This is a deep royal purple with red and purple microshimmer throughout—absolutely gorgeous and opaque in two coats. Application is similar to Late Blu-mer, except the formula here is slightly thicker, which makes application a teensy bit more difficult. Because of that thicker formula, drying time is a little longer, too (otherwise, you will get some pull near the cuticle upon applying a second coat).


As a whole, this collection honestly doesn’t scream holiday to me. I can see it with the glitters, and I suppose the shimmers echo what the glitters are on about, but the colors seem more fall than holiday. Maybe something green would make this seem more holiday-ish?

In spite of that, the shimmers are all jewel tones, which I find flattering on all skin tones, and the glitters are just so fun! The Modern Family Holiday collection is clearly cohesive with all that sparkle, but it is also varied enough that everyone will be able to find at least one appealing nail polish in this bunch. (Can you say stocking stuffers?)

Late Blu-mer, Spark the Conversation, and Aren’t Families Grape? are my favorites out of this collection. How about you?

Disclosure: Product samples provided by OPI.

(Source: blanketprint)

11/03/2013

Color: Catherine (Julep)Retail Price: $14.00 (USD)
I love this red! Julep describes it as “the original classic, go-to red creme,” though I would argue it’s a teensy bit jelly-ish, too.
The formula is a little on the thin side, but in spite of that, application is practically effortless. It is so easy to make clean, beautiful lines with Catherine for a flawless finished manicure. In the photo above, I am wearing two coats of nail polish.
As a classic, go-to red, this shade is perfect for pretty much anything you have in mind. Dress it up for parties, or let it be a sassy pop of color in an otherwise casual look. The possibilities are literally endless. You need this color!!
Disclosure: Product sample provided by Julep.

Color: Catherine (Julep)
Retail Price: $14.00 (USD)

I love this red! Julep describes it as “the original classic, go-to red creme,” though I would argue it’s a teensy bit jelly-ish, too.

The formula is a little on the thin side, but in spite of that, application is practically effortless. It is so easy to make clean, beautiful lines with Catherine for a flawless finished manicure. In the photo above, I am wearing two coats of nail polish.

As a classic, go-to red, this shade is perfect for pretty much anything you have in mind. Dress it up for parties, or let it be a sassy pop of color in an otherwise casual look. The possibilities are literally endless. You need this color!!

Disclosure: Product sample provided by Julep.

(Source: blanketprint)

11/02/2013

Color: Shake Your $$ Maker (Essie)Retail Price: $8.00 (USD)
This shade is from Essie’s 2013 Neon collection. It is a bright kelly green jelly that makes me think of St. Patrick’s Day or Christmas! And…money. Due to the nail polish name!
The formula for Shake Your $$ Maker is a little tricky; it’s super sheer and thick! It was difficult to work with due to the thickness, and frustrating to apply because it was just so sheer. In the photo above, I am wearing four coats of nail polish, and even then, you can clearly see nail lines under all that green! So, I would suggest wearing this shade over a base white creme manicure.
As with most neon formulas, this dries matte. So, if you desire some shine, make sure you finish up your manicure with a glossy top coat! (I am wearing Seche Vite top coat in my swatch.)

Color: Shake Your $$ Maker (Essie)
Retail Price: $8.00 (USD)

This shade is from Essie’s 2013 Neon collection. It is a bright kelly green jelly that makes me think of St. Patrick’s Day or Christmas! And…money. Due to the nail polish name!

The formula for Shake Your $$ Maker is a little tricky; it’s super sheer and thick! It was difficult to work with due to the thickness, and frustrating to apply because it was just so sheer. In the photo above, I am wearing four coats of nail polish, and even then, you can clearly see nail lines under all that green! So, I would suggest wearing this shade over a base white creme manicure.

As with most neon formulas, this dries matte. So, if you desire some shine, make sure you finish up your manicure with a glossy top coat! (I am wearing Seche Vite top coat in my swatch.)

(Source: blanketprint)

06/07/2013

Color: Glowstick (Orly)Retail Price: $8.00 (USD)
This shade is from Orly’s summer 2012 Feel the Vibe collection. It is a highlighter yellow neon creme that’s so bright it’s nearly blinding (in the most awesome way ever)! Just like most other neon nail polishes, this dries matte, so make sure you finish your manicure with a glossy top coat.
As fun as this color is, the formula? Not so much. =/ Glowstick is extremely sheer, and the formula is strangely thick. That makes application quite tedious. The thick formula means each coat you apply takes longer than usual to dry, and the sheerness of Glowstick means you’re going to be applying quite a few coats of this nail polish if you decide not to use a white creme base for this manicure. In the photo above, I am wearing four coats of Glowstick!
In spite of the formula, I am just way too in love with Glowstick to really care about the crazy application process. I’ve never seen a yellow so bright it’s practically radioactive! I’m just so amazed!
This is definitely not work-safe, but if you want to make a statement with your manicure, this has got to be one of your go-to nail polishes.

Color: Glowstick (Orly)
Retail Price: $8.00 (USD)

This shade is from Orly’s summer 2012 Feel the Vibe collection. It is a highlighter yellow neon creme that’s so bright it’s nearly blinding (in the most awesome way ever)! Just like most other neon nail polishes, this dries matte, so make sure you finish your manicure with a glossy top coat.

As fun as this color is, the formula? Not so much. =/ Glowstick is extremely sheer, and the formula is strangely thick. That makes application quite tedious. The thick formula means each coat you apply takes longer than usual to dry, and the sheerness of Glowstick means you’re going to be applying quite a few coats of this nail polish if you decide not to use a white creme base for this manicure. In the photo above, I am wearing four coats of Glowstick!

In spite of the formula, I am just way too in love with Glowstick to really care about the crazy application process. I’ve never seen a yellow so bright it’s practically radioactive! I’m just so amazed!

This is definitely not work-safe, but if you want to make a statement with your manicure, this has got to be one of your go-to nail polishes.

(Source: blanketprint)

page 1 of 21 | next »
Powered by Tumblr · Template by Sid05 · All content © 2011-2012 to Joya