» blanket print nails

02/07/2014


Color: Boom Boom Pow (Deborah Lippmann)Retail Price: $20.00 (USD)
This dazzling nail polish is for the truly glamorous at heart. Boom Boom Pow is absolutely packed with all kinds of gold glitter, and even boasts 24 karat gold dust! Since the base is clear, this is excellent for layering over other shades and could even provide a great base for galaxy nail art.
The formula for this shade is easy to work with, which means application is fairly effortless. In the photo above, I am wearing two coats of Boom Boom Pow on my middle finger, and just one coat on my ring and pinky fingers (all over a base manicure using a black creme). As you can see, both one and two coats look fine; it really just depends on what kind of bling you’re wanting to feature on your nails.
This is one of the more expensive nail polishes, but the 24 karat gold dust gives it that extra bit of uniqueness that might convince you to spring for it. Moreover, the formula and ease of application makes this one worth the price tag in my book. Go on—treat yourself!
Disclosure: Product sample provided by Deborah Lippmann.

Color: Boom Boom Pow (Deborah Lippmann)
Retail Price: $20.00 (USD)

This dazzling nail polish is for the truly glamorous at heart. Boom Boom Pow is absolutely packed with all kinds of gold glitter, and even boasts 24 karat gold dust! Since the base is clear, this is excellent for layering over other shades and could even provide a great base for galaxy nail art.

The formula for this shade is easy to work with, which means application is fairly effortless. In the photo above, I am wearing two coats of Boom Boom Pow on my middle finger, and just one coat on my ring and pinky fingers (all over a base manicure using a black creme). As you can see, both one and two coats look fine; it really just depends on what kind of bling you’re wanting to feature on your nails.

This is one of the more expensive nail polishes, but the 24 karat gold dust gives it that extra bit of uniqueness that might convince you to spring for it. Moreover, the formula and ease of application makes this one worth the price tag in my book. Go ontreat yourself!

Disclosure: Product sample provided by Deborah Lippmann.

(Source: blanketprint)

11/12/2013

Color: Catherine (Julep)Retail Price: $14.00 (USD)
I love this red! Julep describes it as “the original classic, go-to red creme,” though I would argue it’s a teensy bit jelly-ish, too.
The formula is a little on the thin side, but in spite of that, application is practically effortless. It is so easy to make clean, beautiful lines with Catherine for a flawless finished manicure. In the photo above, I am wearing two coats of nail polish.
As a classic, go-to red, this shade is perfect for pretty much anything you have in mind. Dress it up for parties, or let it be a sassy pop of color in an otherwise casual look. The possibilities are literally endless. You need this color!!
Disclosure: Product sample provided by Julep.

Color: Catherine (Julep)
Retail Price: $14.00 (USD)

I love this red! Julep describes it as “the original classic, go-to red creme,” though I would argue it’s a teensy bit jelly-ish, too.

The formula is a little on the thin side, but in spite of that, application is practically effortless. It is so easy to make clean, beautiful lines with Catherine for a flawless finished manicure. In the photo above, I am wearing two coats of nail polish.

As a classic, go-to red, this shade is perfect for pretty much anything you have in mind. Dress it up for parties, or let it be a sassy pop of color in an otherwise casual look. The possibilities are literally endless. You need this color!!

Disclosure: Product sample provided by Julep.

(Source: blanketprint)

11/11/2013

Color: Claire (Julep)Retail Price: $14.00 (USD)
This is a cool sky blue with a creme finish. It nicely toes the line between bright and neon. I find once most shades hit neon territory, they dry matte (an issue that is easily combated with a top coat), which isn’t necessarily problematic…but if I wanted a matte nail polish, I would get a matte nail polish! So, I rather like it when a nail polish manages to be bright, almost neon, and glossy all at once!
The formula for Claire is a little on the thick side, which makes application somewhat difficult because it’s hard to get a smooth finish with this nail color. After careful application, I am wearing two coats of Claire in the photo above.
Being such a bright color, Claire seems like a great summer shade (awesome for toes!), but I think it could fit right in during the cool winter months, too.
Disclosure: Product sample provided by Julep.

Color: Claire (Julep)
Retail Price: $14.00 (USD)

This is a cool sky blue with a creme finish. It nicely toes the line between bright and neon. I find once most shades hit neon territory, they dry matte (an issue that is easily combated with a top coat), which isn’t necessarily problematic…but if I wanted a matte nail polish, I would get a matte nail polish! So, I rather like it when a nail polish manages to be bright, almost neon, and glossy all at once!

The formula for Claire is a little on the thick side, which makes application somewhat difficult because it’s hard to get a smooth finish with this nail color. After careful application, I am wearing two coats of Claire in the photo above.

Being such a bright color, Claire seems like a great summer shade (awesome for toes!), but I think it could fit right in during the cool winter months, too.

Disclosure: Product sample provided by Julep.

(Source: blanketprint)

11/10/2013

(Click photos to enlarge them.)

Collection: Summer 2013 PixieDust (Zoya)
Retail Price: $9.00 (USD) per bottle

I hurt my arm over the summer, which meant I couldn’t swatch anything for a few months. Now that I’m good as new again, I’m going to be posting some summer collections in the next few days. Get excited! :)

Anyway, this was my first time trying Zoya’s PixieDust formula. I’m pretty iffy on textured nail polish in general, but I actually like PixieDust! The sugary texture is smooth and uniform, so you get the benefits of a textured manicure without having to worry about the final look appearing like a mess. Best of both worlds!

Check out the end of my review for details on application and wear.


Destiny: This is a red-orange coral with gold glitter throughout. It photographed a bit more orange than it actually is. Looking at the bottle, the color actually reminds me of the inside of a grapefruit, which definitely echoes the summer vibe of this collection.

Beatrix: This is a bright tangerine orange with gold glitter throughout. It looks perfectly citrusy for summer, but now that I’m looking at it, I think it looks kind of pumpkin-y, too, so it can carry into fall as well. I love it when nail polish is versatile!

Solange: Simply put, this shade is yellow/gold. In person, there is quite a lot of dimension to it because the nail polish is a bright yellow, while the glitter throughout is a darker gold. If you want to rock some PixieDust at work, Solange is probably your best bet.

Miranda: This is a rosy berry pink with silver glitter throughout. It actually appears darker in the bottle, which had me thinking it didn’t really fit with the rest of the shades in this collection, but on the nail, it is quite bright!

Stevie: This is a soft lilac with silver glitter throughout. I liked it so much more than I thought I would. Lilacs like this shade usually have a “dusty” quality to them that I tend to not like, but the “dusty” quality here is in the form of glitter, which nicely shakes things up!

Liberty: This is a bright electric blue with silver glitter throughout. The base was also a little jelly-ish, and overall, the nail polish is pretty pigmented, so you might get some staining on your nails because of that. Liberty is my favorite from this collection. Perfect pop of color for chilling poolside or making a statement wherever it is you’re going this season!


For the most part, the formulas for all these shades are pretty consistent. I am wearing two coats of nail polish in all my swatches. Dry time is actually quicker than ordinary nail polish, but not that quick (you can spot a little smudge on my middle finger when I checked too soon in the Destiny swatch!). And the PixieDust formula is slightly thick, but in spite of that, application is pretty easy—just make sure the first coat is completely dry before applying the second coat (otherwise, you’ll get some pull, which will ruin the manicure because everything will just get chunky and awkward).

I wore Liberty on my nails after I finished swatching, and I was worried the manicure wouldn’t last very long without a base or top coat, which is how this nail polish is supposed to be worn; however, my manicure lasted a full week!

Destiny, Beatrix, and Solange are a perfectly citrus-y trio that scream summer to me, while Miranda, Stevie, and Liberty are not so obvious about it (which isn’t necessarily a bad thing!). Overall, this is a great summer collection, but am I the only one wishing for a green in the mix, too?

Disclosure: Product samples provided by Zoya.

(Source: blanketprint)

11/08/2013

(Click photos to enlarge them.)

Collection: Modern Family Holiday (Nicole by OPI)
Retail Price: $7.99 (USD) per bottle

This holiday season, Nicole by OPI is releasing five dazzling limited edition nail polishes inspired by Modern Family


Late Blu-mer: This is a medium blue with silver microshimmer throughout. OPI describes it as “vintage blue jeans that have stood the test of time,” which I just love! That’s my opinion on all medium to dark blue nail polishes; like jeans, blues magically look lovely on everyone. Out of the shimmers in this collection, application for Late Blu-mer is easiest, and in the photo above, I am wearing two coats of nail polish.

Who Red My Journal???: (Can’t you just imagine Alex or Haley shrieking the name of this nail polish?) This is a burnt red-orange with microshimmer throughout. It is interesting because the color shifts from red to orange, depending on the lighting, so it would be a great color to where as the season changes from fall to winter. Application for this shade was a little streaky, so take your time with this manicure, and I achieved opacity in two coats.

You’re My Treasure: This nail polish features large diamond and hex holographic gold glitter in a clear base. It was frustrating trying to get the diamonds onto my nails, but other than that, application is pretty good because every brush stroke brings with it a fair amount of glitter. In the photo above, I am wearing one coat of You’re My Treasure over two coats of Who Red My Journal???

Spark the Conversation: This nail polish features square holographic silver glitter in a clear base. Application is a little tricky because it was hard to get the glitter onto the brush and then onto my nails, but this one still ended up being my favorite out of the bunch. It makes me think of confetti from a New Year’s Eve party! In the photo above, I am wearing one coat of Spark the Conversation over two coats of Late Blu-mer.

Aren’t Families Grape?: (Who can hear Phil saying the name of this one?) This is a deep royal purple with red and purple microshimmer throughout—absolutely gorgeous and opaque in two coats. Application is similar to Late Blu-mer, except the formula here is slightly thicker, which makes application a teensy bit more difficult. Because of that thicker formula, drying time is a little longer, too (otherwise, you will get some pull near the cuticle upon applying a second coat).


As a whole, this collection honestly doesn’t scream holiday to me. I can see it with the glitters, and I suppose the shimmers echo what the glitters are on about, but the colors seem more fall than holiday. Maybe something green would make this seem more holiday-ish?

In spite of that, the shimmers are all jewel tones, which I find flattering on all skin tones, and the glitters are just so fun! The Modern Family Holiday collection is clearly cohesive with all that sparkle, but it is also varied enough that everyone will be able to find at least one appealing nail polish in this bunch. (Can you say stocking stuffers?)

Late Blu-mer, Spark the Conversation, and Aren’t Families Grape? are my favorites out of this collection. How about you?

Disclosure: Product samples provided by OPI.

(Source: blanketprint)

11/03/2013

Color: Kim (Julep)Retail Price: $14.00 (USD)
This is a shimmery gunmetal gray shade that was first released with Julep’s August 2012 Maven boxes. Julep says it has a frosty finish, but I don’t really think so. Maybe there’s a tiny bit of frost in there, but not really a lot, in my opinion!
I really love the formula for Kim. I expected application to be streaky, but it’s actually really smooth, which was a lovely surprise. As with all Julep shades, it is opaque in two coats.
I will absolutely be rocking this shade in the coming winter months. Gray is so chic as it is, and I love how the subtle shimmer (and, okay, frost!) makes Kim stand out from other gray nail polishes. Definitely a keeper!
Disclosure: Product sample provided by Julep.

Color: Kim (Julep)
Retail Price: $14.00 (USD)

This is a shimmery gunmetal gray shade that was first released with Julep’s August 2012 Maven boxes. Julep says it has a frosty finish, but I don’t really think so. Maybe there’s a tiny bit of frost in there, but not really a lot, in my opinion!

I really love the formula for Kim. I expected application to be streaky, but it’s actually really smooth, which was a lovely surprise. As with all Julep shades, it is opaque in two coats.

I will absolutely be rocking this shade in the coming winter months. Gray is so chic as it is, and I love how the subtle shimmer (and, okay, frost!) makes Kim stand out from other gray nail polishes. Definitely a keeper!

Disclosure: Product sample provided by Julep.

(Source: blanketprint)

11/02/2013

Color: Shake Your $$ Maker (Essie)Retail Price: $8.00 (USD)
This shade is from Essie’s 2013 Neon collection. It is a bright kelly green jelly that makes me think of St. Patrick’s Day or Christmas! And…money. Due to the nail polish name!
The formula for Shake Your $$ Maker is a little tricky; it’s super sheer and thick! It was difficult to work with due to the thickness, and frustrating to apply because it was just so sheer. In the photo above, I am wearing four coats of nail polish, and even then, you can clearly see nail lines under all that green! So, I would suggest wearing this shade over a base white creme manicure.
As with most neon formulas, this dries matte. So, if you desire some shine, make sure you finish up your manicure with a glossy top coat! (I am wearing Seche Vite top coat in my swatch.)

Color: Shake Your $$ Maker (Essie)
Retail Price: $8.00 (USD)

This shade is from Essie’s 2013 Neon collection. It is a bright kelly green jelly that makes me think of St. Patrick’s Day or Christmas! And…money. Due to the nail polish name!

The formula for Shake Your $$ Maker is a little tricky; it’s super sheer and thick! It was difficult to work with due to the thickness, and frustrating to apply because it was just so sheer. In the photo above, I am wearing four coats of nail polish, and even then, you can clearly see nail lines under all that green! So, I would suggest wearing this shade over a base white creme manicure.

As with most neon formulas, this dries matte. So, if you desire some shine, make sure you finish up your manicure with a glossy top coat! (I am wearing Seche Vite top coat in my swatch.)

(Source: blanketprint)

11/01/2013

(Click photos to enlarge them.)

Collection: So So Skullicious (OPI)
Retail Price: $18.95 (USD) for the mini 4-pack + nail decals

The concepts for OPI’s mini 4-packs are so fun, and So So Skullicious is no different. This set actually came out in fall 2012, but I’ve seen them on sale again this year. Definitely a must-have set to add a lovely pop of color and style to your Día de los Muertos festivities!


Hi, Pumpkin!: This orange creme is literally the color of a pumpkin. It looks brighter in the bottle; upon application, it actually looks a teensy bit lighter and brighter. The formula for this shade is a little on the thin side, so I needed three coats to achieve full opacity.  Regardless, application is smooth and easy. This is such a fun, bright fall color!

A-Rose from the Dead: OPI calls this hot pink, but I always picture hot pink being a little closer to neon. To me, this looks like a berry pink. It is a creme, but the formula is slightly jelly-ish, too. The color is nicely pigmented, and I was able to achieve opacity in two coats. The berry undertones make this a great shade for the fall, but pinks are always in, aren’t they? I love it when a nail polish shade looks great all year. :)

Mourning Glory: This is a basic black creme—an absolute staple in any nail polish stash. Mourning Glory has the best formula in this mini 4-pack. Application is practically effortless, and it is opaque in two coats. Yet another shade that is good all year!

Candlelight: This is a bright mustard yellow creme. I’m usually not nuts about yellows, but Candlelight has enlightened me. ;) Unfortunately, the formula isn’t so great; it is way too thin! Moreover, application is frustratingly streaky, which meant I needed three to four coats to achieve opacity. Candlelight has this lovely warm yet bright quality to it that makes it perfect for fall, but you’ll have to decide for yourself if the formula is worth the trouble.


The great thing about this mini 4-pack is it also comes with nail decals! Instead of using them all at once, I would suggest using a couple/few on accent nails. That way, you can make them last for more than one manicure!

Overall, I’m very pleased with So So Skullicious, and I love all four colors (even if I don’t love the formula for Candlelight). I normally wouldn’t put these colors together, but now that I see them here, they really do make a nice set, don’t they? Amazing, creative, and fabulous. A+, OPI!

Disclosure: Product samples provided by OPI.

(Source: blanketprint)

10/25/2013

Color: Harley (Julep)Retail Price: $14.00 (USD)
This is a silvery metallic shade that was first released with Julep’s August 2012 Maven boxes. On the one hand, I love how pigmented and shiny Harley is, but on the other, it’s so streaky! But streaky application is just something that we have to learn to accept with metallics!
In the photo above, I am wearing two coats of Harley. Honestly, you could get away with just one coat, but I always do two coats for Julep shades since that’s what they recommend! Besides the streaky application, I have no other issues with this shade.
Looking for a dupe? Check out Icicle (China Glaze) and Diamond Geezer (Butter London).
Disclosure: Product sample provided by Julep.

Color: Harley (Julep)
Retail Price: $14.00 (USD)

This is a silvery metallic shade that was first released with Julep’s August 2012 Maven boxes. On the one hand, I love how pigmented and shiny Harley is, but on the other, it’s so streaky! But streaky application is just something that we have to learn to accept with metallics!

In the photo above, I am wearing two coats of Harley. Honestly, you could get away with just one coat, but I always do two coats for Julep shades since that’s what they recommend! Besides the streaky application, I have no other issues with this shade.

Looking for a dupe? Check out Icicle (China Glaze) and Diamond Geezer (Butter London).

Disclosure: Product sample provided by Julep.

10/21/2013

Color: Bat My Eyes (China Glaze)Retail Price: $7.00 (USD)
This shade is from China Glaze’s Monsters Ball collection. It is a black jelly nail polish packed with various shapes and sizes of gold glitter throughout.
The jelly formula is great because it ensures the gold glitter isn’t totally covered up by the black; however, there is just so much glitter, so it does make application a little tricky. The formula is sometimes slightly lumpy, so take your time with application—especially near your cuticles! In the photo above, I am wearing two coats of Bat My Eyes.
Gold is so in right now, and the black/gold combination is always chic. This is definitely a shade you’ll want in your stash all year!

Color: Bat My Eyes (China Glaze)
Retail Price: $7.00 (USD)

This shade is from China Glaze’s Monsters Ball collection. It is a black jelly nail polish packed with various shapes and sizes of gold glitter throughout.

The jelly formula is great because it ensures the gold glitter isn’t totally covered up by the black; however, there is just so much glitter, so it does make application a little tricky. The formula is sometimes slightly lumpy, so take your time with application—especially near your cuticles! In the photo above, I am wearing two coats of Bat My Eyes.

Gold is so in right now, and the black/gold combination is always chic. This is definitely a shade you’ll want in your stash all year!

10/15/2013

Color: Howl You Doin’ (China Glaze)Retail Price: $7.00 (USD)

This shade is from China Glaze’s Monsters Ball collection. It is a dark purple creme with small blue glitter and uneven flecks of copper glitter throughout.
The copper glitter really adds some dimension to this shade, but I think the blue glitter is just magical. It transforms what ought to be a murky purple into what appears to be a unique and bright blurple! In the photo above, I am wearing two coats of Howl You Doin’.

The formula for this shade is a little on the thick side, so it takes some extra time to dry (as you can see near the cuticles of my pinky and ring fingers, there is a teensy bit of pull because I did not let the nails dry long enough before applying a second coat).
The copper glitter makes this nicely Halloween-y, but the purple creme/blue glitter combination makes this a great fall color that will have you howling all season! ;)

Color: Howl You Doin’ (China Glaze)
Retail Price: $7.00 (USD)

This shade is from China Glaze’s Monsters Ball collection. It is a dark purple creme with small blue glitter and uneven flecks of copper glitter throughout.

The copper glitter really adds some dimension to this shade, but I think the blue glitter is just magical. It transforms what ought to be a murky purple into what appears to be a unique and bright blurple! In the photo above, I am wearing two coats of Howl You Doin’.

The formula for this shade is a little on the thick side, so it takes some extra time to dry (as you can see near the cuticles of my pinky and ring fingers, there is a teensy bit of pull because I did not let the nails dry long enough before applying a second coat).

The copper glitter makes this nicely Halloween-y, but the purple creme/blue glitter combination makes this a great fall color that will have you howling all season! ;)

(Source: blanketprint)

10/04/2013

Color: Queen B (China Glaze)Retail Price: $7.00 (USD)
Am I the only one humming “Royals” by Lorde? This shade will certainly make you feel like a “Queen B.” Purple is the color of royalty, after all.
Queen B is from China Glaze’s fall 2013 Autumn Nights collection. It is a deep violet, almost blurple shade with a creme finish.
The formula for this shade is flawless; it’s a one-coater! Application is smooth (practically effortless, if you ask me), and the color applies evenly (no bald spots, which is what makes it a one-coater). The color looks pretty dark in the bottle, but in good lighting (or under the sun, which is where I took pictures of my swatch), the violet is bright and fun. This is absolutely a staple you need in your autumn wardrobe.
Looking for a dupe? Try Road House Blues (OPI) or No More Film (Essie).
Disclosure: Product sample provided by China Glaze. 

Color: Queen B (China Glaze)
Retail Price: $7.00 (USD)

Am I the only one humming “Royals” by Lorde? This shade will certainly make you feel like a “Queen B.” Purple is the color of royalty, after all.

Queen B is from China Glaze’s fall 2013 Autumn Nights collection. It is a deep violet, almost blurple shade with a creme finish.

The formula for this shade is flawless; it’s a one-coater! Application is smooth (practically effortless, if you ask me), and the color applies evenly (no bald spots, which is what makes it a one-coater). The color looks pretty dark in the bottle, but in good lighting (or under the sun, which is where I took pictures of my swatch), the violet is bright and fun. This is absolutely a staple you need in your autumn wardrobe.

Looking for a dupe? Try Road House Blues (OPI) or No More Film (Essie).

Disclosure: Product sample provided by China Glaze. 

(Source: blanketprint)

06/07/2013

Color: Glowstick (Orly)Retail Price: $8.00 (USD)
This shade is from Orly’s summer 2012 Feel the Vibe collection. It is a highlighter yellow neon creme that’s so bright it’s nearly blinding (in the most awesome way ever)! Just like most other neon nail polishes, this dries matte, so make sure you finish your manicure with a glossy top coat.
As fun as this color is, the formula? Not so much. =/ Glowstick is extremely sheer, and the formula is strangely thick. That makes application quite tedious. The thick formula means each coat you apply takes longer than usual to dry, and the sheerness of Glowstick means you’re going to be applying quite a few coats of this nail polish if you decide not to use a white creme base for this manicure. In the photo above, I am wearing four coats of Glowstick!
In spite of the formula, I am just way too in love with Glowstick to really care about the crazy application process. I’ve never seen a yellow so bright it’s practically radioactive! I’m just so amazed!
This is definitely not work-safe, but if you want to make a statement with your manicure, this has got to be one of your go-to nail polishes.

Color: Glowstick (Orly)
Retail Price: $8.00 (USD)

This shade is from Orly’s summer 2012 Feel the Vibe collection. It is a highlighter yellow neon creme that’s so bright it’s nearly blinding (in the most awesome way ever)! Just like most other neon nail polishes, this dries matte, so make sure you finish your manicure with a glossy top coat.

As fun as this color is, the formula? Not so much. =/ Glowstick is extremely sheer, and the formula is strangely thick. That makes application quite tedious. The thick formula means each coat you apply takes longer than usual to dry, and the sheerness of Glowstick means you’re going to be applying quite a few coats of this nail polish if you decide not to use a white creme base for this manicure. In the photo above, I am wearing four coats of Glowstick!

In spite of the formula, I am just way too in love with Glowstick to really care about the crazy application process. I’ve never seen a yellow so bright it’s practically radioactive! I’m just so amazed!

This is definitely not work-safe, but if you want to make a statement with your manicure, this has got to be one of your go-to nail polishes.

(Source: blanketprint)

03/29/2013

(Click photos to enlarge them.)

Collection: Lovely (Zoya)
Retail Price: $8.00 (USD) per bottle

This is the spring 2013 Lovely collection from Zoya. It contains three fresh blooms of cream and three dewy metallics. These colors are perfect for the spring season (and Easter weekend!), and add a great pop of color to any look. Read on for my thoughts on this collection!


Jacqueline: This shade is a light beige creme with warm yellow undertones. It’s a great nude for skin tones with similar warm undertones, and a work-safe shade for all. Application is smooth and easy, and is opaque in only two coats.

Neely: This shade is a muted and dusty light green. Zoya claims it is a perfect “vintage” shade, and I have to agree! I always love green nail polish, so this was no exception. Great formula, and opaque in only two coats. No complaints here! Looking for a dupe? Check out Bossy Boots (Butter London), which is slightly brighter.

Blu: This shade is a soft baby blue creme. I’m not sure if I go a wonky bottle or if it’s because I took my photos under the sun, but my photo makes this shade look a bit brighter than other swatches I’ve seen. At first glance, it reminded me of Kristen (Zoya), but it’s not nearly dusty or dark enough! The closest dupe I own is Borrowed & Blue (Essie), though Blu is not quite as bright. The formula for Blu was a teensy bit on the thick side, and was opaque in two coats.

Julie: This shade is a dewy lilac shimmer. I was going to describe it as dusty at first, but when it reminded me of No More Waity, Katie (Butter London), I compared the bottles, and Julie is so much brighter! It seemed like a lie to call Julie dusty. In any case, I liked this purple so much more than I thought I would; I think it’s a nail color that would look flattering on many skin tones. Additionally, the formulas for the shimmers in this collection are so easy to work with. Application is forgiving, and I achieved full opacity in only two coats.

GeiGei: This shade is a cheerful cherry blossom pink shimmer. It’s a good fit within this collection, but I think you could find a dupe for it just about anywhere! Still, this is a great pink for spring, and an easy color to match with several looks. Once again, the formula for this shade is easy to work with, and GeiGei is opaque in two coats.

Piaf: According to Zoya, this shade is a “forsythia yellow metallic.”  Forsythia flowers are gorgeous, but I don’t think this shade is bright enough to do the flower justice! And it has slight metallic tendencies, but I’d call this a shimmer before a metallic any day! Still, I really love Piaf. This soft, dusty yellow makes me think of powdered gold dust. It’s got this dreamy quality to it that’s perfect for work or play, and doesn’t quite match anything else in my stash. Once again, I only needed two coats for full opacity. Definitely a keeper!


Out of the cremes, I especially like Jacqueline, but I think that’s because I find it looks great with my skin tone. And out of the shimmers, Julie and Piaf are the winners because I was surprised by how much I ended up liking them on my nails!

Overall, I really love this collection as a whole. Ordinarily, I’m not a fan of pastels, but I like these colors because they are not too washed out and because the dewy/dusty quality lends the collection a sense of uniqueness missing from other similar nail color collections.

Disclosure: Product samples provided by Zoya.

03/28/2013

Color: Desert Sun (China Glaze)Retail Price: $7.00 (USD)
This shade is from China Glaze’s fall 2012 On Safari collection. It is an orange-brown caramel color with a creme finish.
The formula for this shade made it easy to apply, and I needed two coats to achieve bottle color. Speaking of bottle color, Desert Sun dries darker and brighter than it appears in the bottle, though I suppose the “brighter” bit is sort of fitting since this shade is named after the sun!
If you’re looking for something saucy but still work-safe, this might be the color for you!
Disclosure: Product sample provided by China Glaze. 

Color: Desert Sun (China Glaze)
Retail Price: $7.00 (USD)

This shade is from China Glaze’s fall 2012 On Safari collection. It is an orange-brown caramel color with a creme finish.

The formula for this shade made it easy to apply, and I needed two coats to achieve bottle color. Speaking of bottle color, Desert Sun dries darker and brighter than it appears in the bottle, though I suppose the “brighter” bit is sort of fitting since this shade is named after the sun!

If you’re looking for something saucy but still work-safe, this might be the color for you!

Disclosure: Product sample provided by China Glaze. 

page 1 of 14 | next »
Powered by Tumblr · Template by Sid05 · All content © 2011-2012 to Joya